Revised rules on goods imported by passengers

On 2 April 2014, the Federal Council made some changes to the regulations relating to the tax treatment of goods imported by passengers. These came into force on 1 July 2014. Alcohol and tobacco products are now to be counted as part of the CHF 300 value limit for bringing goods into Switzerland. SIAA objects to this aspect of the revision as it fears it will have a negative impact on duty-free and arrival duty-free shopping at Swiss airports.

Arrival duty-free at Swiss airports since 1 June 2011

On 20 April 2011, the Federal Council adopted the Federal Act on the Purchase of Duty-Free Goods at Airports, which came into effect on
1 June 2011. This created the legal basis to permit passengers arriving from abroad to also buy tax-exempt goods in duty-free stores. In creating the legal framework for arrival duty-free shopping, the government was following the wishes of the Federal Assembly. Jobs were to be created and additional revenue generated as a result of the anticipated shift in purchases from stores abroad to ones based in Switzerland.

Major investment in arrival duty-free infrastructure and passenger information

In addition to the construction and operational measures required to set up the sales outlets at Swiss airports, launching arrival duty-free shops also entailed considerable efforts to inform passengers of the new arrangements. Passengers were informed via various communication channels not only about the new service being offered, but also proactively about the applicable duty-free allowances and value limit.

Arrival duty-free created around 70 new jobs at Swiss airports

Following an extensive campaign, Swiss passengers have become familiar with arrival duty-free shopping. The concept has become successfully established on the market and has shown steady double-digit growth rates. It is therefore a major contributor to the attractiveness of Swiss airports. As well as providing an enhanced offering for passengers, 48 new jobs were created at Zurich Airport and 20 at Geneva Airport.

New rules for passengers two years after arrival duty-free launched

When planning arrival duty-free shopping, the airports based their calculations on passengers being able to bring alcohol and tobacco products into the country as part of their duty-free allowance over and above the value limit of CHF 300 per person. The proposed change in the legislation presents arriving passengers with a new situation which could lead to a drop in purchases at airport duty-free stores. Under the new rules, passengers returning to Switzerland who have already used up their CHF 300 value limit will face additional costs to import any further tax-free goods. SIAA anticipates that passengers will simply no longer make purchases in arrival duty-free shops, which will result in a drop in sales of high-quality products in the spirits, tobacco, perfume and cosmetics ranges.

Loss of income will undermine competitiveness of Swiss aviation industry

There is a direct correlation between flight operations and some of the commercial activities at airports. Lower revenues from arrival duty-free stores will therefore lead to increased airport charges and consequently damage the economically important competitiveness of Switzerland’s aviation industry. This clearly flies in the face of the 2004 report on Swiss civil aviation policy which stated that "Swiss aviation is vitally important for the Swiss economy".

Teilrevision der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen über die Wareneinfuhr im Reiseverkehr

Der Bundesrat hat am 2. April 2014 die Änderung der Verordnungen über die Veranlagung von Waren im Reiseverkehr verabschiedet. Sie traten per 1. Juli 2014 in Kraft. Auch Tabak- und Alkoholwaren sind neu der Wertfreigrenze von CHF 300 anzurechnen. SIAA spricht sich gegen diesen Aspekt der Teilrevision aus, da negative Auswirkungen auf das Duty Free- und Arrival Duty Free an Schweizer Flughäfen befürchtet werden.

Seit 1. Juni 2011 Arrival Duty Free an Schweizer Flughäfen

Am 20. April 2011 hat der Bundesrat beschlossen, per 1. Juni 2011 das Bundesgesetz über den Einkauf von Waren in Zollfreiläden auf Flughäfen in Kraft zu setzen. Damit wurden die rechtlichen Grundlagen geschaffen, dass auch aus dem Ausland ankommende Flugpassagiere abgabenfrei in Zollfreiläden einkaufen können. Der Bund entsprach mit der Schaffung der gesetzlichen Grundlagen für das Arrival Duty Free dem politischen Willen der Eidgenössischen Räte. Aufgrund der zu erwartenden Verlagerung von Einkäufen vom Ausland in die Schweiz sollten an den Flughäfen zusätzliche Arbeitsplätze geschaffen und Mehrerträge generiert werden.

Grosse Investitionen für Einrichtung Arrival Duty Free und Information der Passagiere

Neben den Investitionen in bauliche und betriebliche Massnahmen zur Errichtung der Verkaufsstellen an Schweizer Flughäfen war mit der Inbetriebnahme auch eine umfassende Information der Passagiere erforderlich. Über verschiedene Kommunikationskanäle wurden die Passagiere nicht nur über das neue Dienstleistungsangebot, sondern proaktiv über die Wertfreigrenze und die Zollfreimengen informiert.

Arrival Duty Free schafft knapp 70 neue Arbeitsplätze an Schweizer Flughäfen

Aufgrund der umfassenden Massnahmen wurde das Arrival Duty Free bei den Schweizer Passagieren bekannt, hat sich erfolgreich im Markt etabliert und kann ein stetiges Umsatzwachstum im zweistelligen Prozentbereich aufweisen. Damit trägt es massgeblich zur Attraktivität der Schweizer Flughäfen bei. Zudem konnten am Flughafen Zürich 48, am Flughafen Genf 20 neue Arbeitsplätze und für die Passagiere ein erweitertes Dienstleistungsangebot geschaffen werden.

Neue Regelung für Passagiere zwei Jahre nach Einführung von Arrival Duty Free

Bei der Planung des Arrival Duty Free gingen die Flughäfen davon aus, dass Alkohol- und Tabakprodukte im Rahmen der Zollfreimengen unabhängig von der Wertfreigrenze von 300 Franken pro Person eingeführt werden können. Die beabsichtigte gesetzliche Änderung stellt den ankommenden Flugpassagier vor eine neue Situation, was einen Rückgang der Einkäufe im Duty Free der Flughäfen zur Folge haben kann. Wenn der in die Schweiz zurückkehrende Passagier die Wertfreigrenze von 300 Franken erreicht hat, kann er neu die zusätzlichen zollfreien Waren nur mit Mehrkosten einführen. SIAA geht davon aus, dass die Passagiere auf Einkäufe im Arrival Duty Free, die bislang getätigt wurden, verzichten und dies zu einem Absatzrückgang von Qualitätsprodukten im Bereich Spirituosen, Tabak, Parfüm und Kosmetika führt.

Ertragseinbussen schwächen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Luftfahrtstandortes Schweiz

Zwischen dem Flugbetrieb und einem Teil der kommerziellen Aktivitäten an den Flughäfen besteht ein direkter Zusammenhang. Sinkende Erträge im Arrival Duty Free führen deshalb zu einer Erhöhung der Flughafengebühren und schwächen damit die volkswirtschaftlich sehr bedeutende Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Schweizer Luftfahrt. Dies widerspricht klar dem Bericht über die Luftfahrtpolitik der Schweiz 2004, wonach „der schweizerischen Luftfahrt eine herausragende volkswirtschaftliche Bedeutung zukommt“.