Ensuring the development of Switzerland's international airports in line with demand

Together with the airlines, Switzerland's airports connect the country to the world's major cities. As it is heavily reliant on foreign trade, the Swiss economy will continue to depend on this extensive aviation network well into the future. If the capacity constraints that already exist at peak times at Zurich and Geneva airports are not to be further exacerbated, the airports must be permitted to develop in line with demand.

Swiss airports already face capacity constraints

While the demand for flights has been constantly rising, the runway systems of the airports have remained unchanged for the past 40 years. As a result, Zurich and Geneva airports are already reaching the limits of their capacity at peak times. The bottlenecks are set to be further exacerbated if the two airports are not able to develop to meet the forecast demand. In its current aviation policy report, the Federal Council clearly highlights that these bottlenecks could seriously impact Switzerland's air transport links. The Sectoral Aviation Infrastructure Plan (SAIP) – the Confederation's planning and coordination instrument for civil aviation – is therefore vitally important for the further development of Switzerland's international airports.

SAIP2 solves only current operational issues at Zurich Airport

SIAA welcomes the measures set out by the Federal Council in the SAIP detailed plan for Zurich Airport which reduce the complexity of flight operations and consequently improve punctuality and the safety margin. Other elements enable some of the capacity lost in recent years due to the tightening of security requirements to be regained. SIAA urges swift implementation of these measures.

Long-term demand for flights must be met

The current SAIP detailed plan for Zurich Airport focuses only on current operational challenges. The function of the SAIP, however, is to map out long-term spatial planning. SIAA therefore regrets that the opportunity has been missed to frame conditions in the plan that would also enable the long-term demand for flights and air freight transport to be met. This would require specification of a capacity of 80 flight movements an hour during the midday peak period.

Swiss airports must remain competitive

In its 2016 aviation policy report, the Federal Council notes that comparable European hub airports are gradually increasing their capacity by expanding their infrastructure, and in future will have a far higher hourly capacity than Switzerland's most important aviation hub if appropriate steps are not taken in good time. Airlines would switch to other airports in Europe where they were able to acquire attractive slots. The Swiss economy would therefore lose value added to other countries and Switzerland's accessibility would gradually decline.

The SAIP for Geneva airport must allow development to meet demand

Geneva Airport, the gateway from western Switzerland to the global aviation network, must be able to develop in line with demand too. SIAA recommends defining the noise contour in the SAIP detailed plan in a way that would permit Geneva Airport to expand its infrastructure to meet demand.

EuroAirport must be allowed to grow as set out in the existing SAIP

Since 2013, EuroAirport Basel-Mulhouse-Freiburg has had a SAIP detailed plan setting out the spatial planning requirements for its development in Switzerland. Switzerland's third-largest international airport still has the necessary capacity, so spatial planning measures to accommodate demand-led expansion are possible. As the fastest growing economic region in the country, northwestern Switzerland is dependent on a high-performing airport.

Conclusions

  • The already existing capacity constraints at peak times at Zurich and Geneva airports will be further exacerbated if these airports are not permitted to develop in line with demand.
  • To safeguard the air transport links that are vital for the Swiss economy in future, a capacity of 80 flights an hour during midday peak periods must be specified in the SAIP detailed plan for Zurich Airport.
  • In the SAIP detailed plan for Geneva Airport, the noise contour must be defined so that it allows demand-led expansion of its infrastructure.
  • EuroAirport Basel-Mulhouse-Freiburg must be allowed to develop within the framework set out in the SAIP detailed plan.
  • Comparable hub airports in Europe are gradually expanding their capacity. Switzerland's economy will lose out if it cannot keep pace with infrastructure expansion.

Garantir une croissance des aéroports nationaux qui soit conforme à la demande

En collaboration avec les compagnies aériennes, les aéroports garantissent le rattachement aérien de la Suisse aux plus grandes métropoles du monde. Du fait de sa forte orientation sur le commerce extérieur, l’économie suisse continuera à être tributaire de ces liaisons aériennes fiables. Pour ne pas aggraver encore les effets de saturation qui apparaissent en période de pointe dans les aéroports de Zurich et de Genève, les aéroports doivent pouvoir se développer pour répondre à la demande.

Des aéroports nationaux déjà en partie saturés

Alors que la demande de vols n’a cessé d’augmenter, les systèmes de pistes des aéroports nationaux sont restés inchangés depuis une quarantaine d’années. C’est pourquoi, aux heures de pointe, les aéroports de Zurich et de Genève atteignent aujourd’hui leurs limites de capacité. Ces problèmes risquent encore de s’aggraver si les deux aéroports nationaux ne sont pas en mesure de s’aligner sur les prévisions de croissance de la demande. Dans son dernier Rapport sur la politique aéronautique, le Conseil fédéral souligne clairement que ces effets de congestion peuvent considérablement entraver le rattachement aérien de la Suisse au reste du monde. Le plan sectoriel de l’infrastructure aéronautique (PSIA), l’instrument de planification et de coordination de la Confédération pour l’aviation civile, constitue donc une base essentielle pour le développement des aéroports nationaux.

Le PSIA2 pour l’aéroport de Zurich ne règle que les problèmes d’exploitation

La SIAA approuve les mesures définies par le Conseil fédéral dans la fiche d’objet PSIA pour l’aéroport de Zurich, qui réduisent la complexité des opérations aériennes et contribuent ainsi à accroître la marge de sécurité et à améliorer la ponctualité. D’autres éléments permettent de retrouver une partie des capacités perdues ces dernières années en raison d’exigences de sécurité renforcées. La SIAA souhaite une mise en œuvre rapide de ces mesures.

La demande à long terme doit être couverte

La fiche d’objet PSIA pour l’aéroport de Zurich se concentre sur les difficultés opérationnelles actuelles. Cependant, la fonction du PSIA est de définir une planification à long terme en matière d’aménagement du territoire. C’est pourquoi la SIAA déplore que la fiche d’objet ne définisse pas de conditions-cadres pour couvrir également la demande à long terme en transport aérien de voyageurs et de fret. Pour couvrir cette demande, il faudrait atteindre une capacité horaire de 80 mouvements aériens pendant les heures de pointe de la mi-journée.

Les aéroports suisses doivent rester concurrentiels

Dans son Rapport sur la politique aéronautique de 2016, le Conseil fédéral constate que les aéroports comparables en Europe développent progressivement leurs capacités par une extension de leurs infrastructures. Ainsi, si rien n’est entrepris rapidement pour changer la donne, ces aéroports concurrents disposeront à l’avenir de capacités horaires bien plus conséquentes que la plus importante plate-forme aérienne suisse. Les compagnies aériennes privilégieront alors les aéroports européens leur offrant des créneaux horaires plus attractifs. La Suisse perdrait ainsi une importante source de création de valeur au profit de l’étranger, et son accessibilité entamerait un déclin continu.

Le PSIA pour l’aéroport de Genève doit anticiper la croissance de la demande

L’aéroport de Genève, qui relie la Suisse romande au trafic aérien mondial, doit lui aussi pouvoir se développer pour répondre à la demande. La SIAA recommande de définir, dans la fiche d’objet PSIA pour l’aéroport de Genève, des courbes de bruit qui permettent ce développement des infrastructures.

L’EuroAirport doit pouvoir se développer selon le PSIA actuel

L’EuroAirport Bâle-Mulhouse-Fribourg dispose depuis 2013 d’un PSIA qui définit les directives de planification pour le développement en Suisse. Ce troisième aéroport dispose encore de marges de capacité pour garantir une croissance conforme à l’évolution de la demande et aux exigences d’aménagement du territoire. La région Nord-Ouest est celle qui connaît la croissance économique la plus dynamique du pays; elle a donc besoin d’un aéroport performant.

Conclusion

  • Les effets de saturation qui apparaissent en période de pointe au niveau des aéroports de Zurich et de Genève risquent de s’aggraver considérablement si ces aéroports ne sont pas en mesure de développer leurs infrastructures pour répondre à la demande.
  • Pour garantir à l’avenir des liaisons aériennes vitales pour l’économie suisse, la fiche d’objet PSIA pour l’aéroport de Zurich doit définir une capacité horaire de 80 vols pendant les heures de pointe de la mi-journée.
  • La fiche d’objet PSIA pour l’aéroport de Genève doit définir des courbes de bruit autorisant une extension des infrastructures conforme à l’évolution de la demande.
  • L’EuroAirport Bâle-Mulhouse-Fribourg doit pouvoir se développer dans le cadre des conditions définies dans sa fiche d’objet PSIA.
  • Les aéroports européens comparables développent progressivement leurs capacités. La Suisse risque de perdre d’importantes ressources économiques si elle n’est pas en mesure de suivre cette évolution.