New rules for ground crew

On 14 June 2013, the Federal Council approved an amendment to the 2nd ordinance (ArGV2) under the Swiss Employment Act (Arbeitsgesetz) which sets out new rules for aviation ground crew. The new provision specifies a minimum of 18 free Sundays, provided that certain conditions are met. The amendment comes into force on 1 August 2013. SIAA has announced its support for the new rules.

The new proposal emerged from motion 10.3508 (free Sundays and equal treatment for companies employing ground personnel) submitted on 17 June 2010 on the initiative of National Council member Jean-René Germanier and subsequent negotiations with key social partners for the aviation ground crew sector.

The aim of the motion was to enable airports to operate on busy weekends, provide sufficient staff, and put the airlines on an equal footing with respect to the rules governing free Sundays.

The new article 12 paragraph 1bis of ArGV2 prescribes a minimum of 18 free Sundays per calendar year. In return, twelve times a year employees must be guaranteed a rest period of at least 59 contiguous hours across a whole Saturday and Sunday.

Nouvelle réglementation pour le personnel au sol de la navigation aérienne

Le Conseil fédéral a adopté le 14 juin 2013 la révision de l’ordonnance 2 relative à la loi sur le travail (OLT 2) prévoyant une nouvelle disposition applicable au personnel au sol de la navigation aérienne. Cette nouvelle disposition fixe le nombre minimal de dimanches de congé à 18 si certaines conditions sont respectées. La révision est entrée en vigueur le 1er août 2013. La SIAA s’est prononcée en faveur de cette nouvelle réglementation.

La nouvelle proposition a découlé de la motion 10.3508 déposée le 17 juin 2010 par le Conseiller national Jean-René Germanier (Dimanches de congé. Egalité de traitement pour les entreprises employant du personnel au sol dans le secteur de la navigation aérienne), ainsi que des négociations ultérieures avec les principaux partenaires sociaux du personnel au sol de la navigation aérienne.

Cette motion visait à permettre aux aéroports de disposer de suffisamment de personnel pendant les fins de semaine à fort trafic et à mettre les entreprises de navigation aérienne sur un pied d’égalité vis-à-vis des dispositions relatives aux dimanches de congé.

Le nouvel art. 12, al. 1bis, OLT 2 fixe le nombre minimal de dimanches de congé à 18 par année civile. En contrepartie, un repos d’au moins 59 heures consécutives comprenant un samedi et un dimanche complets doit être accordé douze fois dans le courant de l’année à l’employé.