Revised rules on goods imported by passengers

On 2 April 2014, the Federal Council made some changes to the regulations relating to the tax treatment of goods imported by passengers. These came into force on 1 July 2014. Alcohol and tobacco products are now to be counted as part of the CHF 300 value limit for bringing goods into Switzerland. SIAA objects to this aspect of the revision as it fears it will have a negative impact on duty-free and arrival duty-free shopping at Swiss airports.

Arrival duty-free at Swiss airports since 1 June 2011

On 20 April 2011, the Federal Council adopted the Federal Act on the Purchase of Duty-Free Goods at Airports, which came into effect on
1 June 2011. This created the legal basis to permit passengers arriving from abroad to also buy tax-exempt goods in duty-free stores. In creating the legal framework for arrival duty-free shopping, the government was following the wishes of the Federal Assembly. Jobs were to be created and additional revenue generated as a result of the anticipated shift in purchases from stores abroad to ones based in Switzerland.

Major investment in arrival duty-free infrastructure and passenger information

In addition to the construction and operational measures required to set up the sales outlets at Swiss airports, launching arrival duty-free shops also entailed considerable efforts to inform passengers of the new arrangements. Passengers were informed via various communication channels not only about the new service being offered, but also proactively about the applicable duty-free allowances and value limit.

Arrival duty-free created around 70 new jobs at Swiss airports

Following an extensive campaign, Swiss passengers have become familiar with arrival duty-free shopping. The concept has become successfully established on the market and has shown steady double-digit growth rates. It is therefore a major contributor to the attractiveness of Swiss airports. As well as providing an enhanced offering for passengers, 48 new jobs were created at Zurich Airport and 20 at Geneva Airport.

New rules for passengers two years after arrival duty-free launched

When planning arrival duty-free shopping, the airports based their calculations on passengers being able to bring alcohol and tobacco products into the country as part of their duty-free allowance over and above the value limit of CHF 300 per person. The proposed change in the legislation presents arriving passengers with a new situation which could lead to a drop in purchases at airport duty-free stores. Under the new rules, passengers returning to Switzerland who have already used up their CHF 300 value limit will face additional costs to import any further tax-free goods. SIAA anticipates that passengers will simply no longer make purchases in arrival duty-free shops, which will result in a drop in sales of high-quality products in the spirits, tobacco, perfume and cosmetics ranges.

Loss of income will undermine competitiveness of Swiss aviation industry

There is a direct correlation between flight operations and some of the commercial activities at airports. Lower revenues from arrival duty-free stores will therefore lead to increased airport charges and consequently damage the economically important competitiveness of Switzerland’s aviation industry. This clearly flies in the face of the 2004 report on Swiss civil aviation policy which stated that "Swiss aviation is vitally important for the Swiss economy".

Révision partielle des dispositions légales relatives à l’importation de marchandises dans le trafic touristique

Le Conseil fédéral a adopté le 2 avril 2014 la modification des ordonnances sur la taxation des marchandises du trafic touristique. Elles sont entrées en vigueur le 1er juillet 2014. Les boissons alcoolisées et les tabacs manufacturés doivent désormais être imputés sur la franchise-valeur de CHF 300. La SIAA s’oppose à cet aspect de la révision partielle qui est susceptible de porter préjudice aux boutiques hors taxes et aux boutiques hors taxes à l’arrivée des aéroports suisses.

Les aéroports suisses possèdent des boutiques hors taxes à l’arrivée depuis le 1er juin 2011

Le 20 avril 2011, le Conseil fédéral a décidé de mettre en vigueur le 1er juin 2011 la loi fédérale sur l’achat de marchandises dans les boutiques hors taxes des aéroports, posant ainsi les bases juridiques nécessaires pour permettre aux passagers arrivant de l’étranger de faire également des achats détaxés dans des boutiques hors taxes. En instaurant ces conditions en faveur des boutiques hors taxes à l’arrivée, la Confédération a répondu à la volonté politique des Chambres fédérales. Le déplacement escompté des achats de l’étranger vers la Suisse a permis de créer des emplois supplémentaires dans les aéroports et de générer davantage de revenus.

Un investissement élevé pour l’aménagement des boutiques hors taxes à l’arrivée et l’information des passagers

Parallèlement aux investissements dans des travaux de construction et d’exploitation liés à la mise en place des points de vente dans les aéroports suisses, la mise en œuvre de ces mesures a exigé une information exhaustive des passagers. Les passagers ont ainsi pris connaissance de la nouvelle offre de services et ont été informés de manière proactive sur la franchise-valeur et les franchises quantitatives par le biais de différents moyens de communication.

Les boutiques hors taxes à l’arrivée créent quelque 70 nouveaux emplois dans les aéroports suisses

Grâce à ces mesures exhaustives, les boutiques hors taxes à l’arrivée ont gagné en notoriété auprès des passagers suisses, se sont établies avec succès sur le marché et affichent une hausse constante à deux chiffres de leur chiffre d’affaires. Elles contribuent ainsi de manière déterminante à l’attractivité des aéroports suisses. En outre, elles ont permis la création de 48 nouveaux emplois à l’Aéroport de Zurich et de 20 à l’Aéroport de Genève, tout comme l’élargissement de l’offre de services ¬pour les passagers.

Un nouveau règlement pour les passagers, deux ans après l’introduction des boutiques hors taxes à l’arrivée

Pendant la planification des boutiques hors taxes à l’arrivée, les aéroports sont partis du principe que les boissons alcoolisées et les tabacs manufacturés pouvaient être importés dans le cadre des franchises quantitatives, indépendamment de la franchise-valeur de 300 francs par personne. La modification légale visée change la donne pour les passagers arrivant de l’étranger, une modification qui pourrait provoquer une baisse des achats hors taxes dans les aéroports. Lorsque la franchise-valeur de 300 francs est atteinte par le passager rentrant en Suisse, toute importation de marchandises détaxées supplémentaires fait en effet désormais l’objet d’un surcoût. La SIAA estime que les passagers vont donc renoncer aux achats réalisés jusqu’ici dans les boutiques hors taxes à l’arrivée, ce qui va provoquer une baisse du chiffre d’affaires lié aux produits de qualité dans le domaine des spiritueux, du tabac, des parfums et des cosmétiques.

Les pertes de revenus fragilisent la compétitivité du pôle aéronautique suisse

Il existe une relation directe entre les opérations aériennes et une partie des activités commerciales aéroportuaires. Par conséquent, le recul des revenus des boutiques hors taxes à l’arrivée entraîne une augmentation des redevances aéroportuaires et affaiblit la compétitivité de l’aviation suisse, qui est un maillon essentiel pour l’économie du pays. Ce qui est en totale contradiction avec le «Rapport sur la politique aéronautique de la Suisse 2004», d’après lequel l’aviation suisse «revêt une importance économique extraordinaire pour notre pays».